Felt Stuffed Toy Letters

When Lucy was younger, I made her some felt letters to help her learn to spell her name. I found this old video we had taken of her using them a couple years ago~

Somehow we’ve hung on to them over the last few years, and I thought it’d be a great way to teach her how to spell her formal name ‘Lucine’ by making some more. And while I was at it, why not do Theo’s name too. It’s never too early to be exposing kids to letters!

I really love how the felt letters are so hands on and inviting. Kids can easily move them around and flip them over to make words or just learn the letters themselves. And the best part is that they are so easy to make ~ you can do while you are anywhere. It doesn’t take much concentration at all. I was able to do these while the kids were playing over the last few days.

First I typed out the letters I wanted to make on my word processing program. I played around with different fonts. Arial seemed to work the best for me and I sized it to 420. I printed out my letters on paper, cut them out and traced them onto my felt. (I love using 100% wool felt! It’s very soft and feels good to work with. I’ve usually ordered mine through Felt on the Fly on Etsy.) For me, the most time consuming part was just cutting out all the letters. Make sure to make two of each for a front and back!

The letters ready to be sewn and stuffed!

front and back

I pinned the letters together to keep them from sliding around as I worked, then chose some embroidery thread to use.

pinned and ready

I had a huge stash from when I actually had time to do embroidery in the past, so I searched for the closest matches I had to the felt. (There are 6 strands in the embroidery thread~ I pulled it into two sets of three for this project.)

Then I began stitching around the edges using a simple whip stitch. (Here’s a little tutorial if you are unfamiliar with this kind of stitch.)

Save some space before you finish to stuff it!

adding stuffing before finishing

Finally, I sewed up the remainder and tied it off!

Finished!

All the completed letters~

Lucy and Theo enjoyed playing with the completed felt letters. My next goal is to do the letters for our long, 9 letter last name and then finally the rest of the alphabet!

Here’s a previous post on using wool felt to make a toy ball!

 

~Shared on Waldorf Wednesday~

This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects, knitting & sewing, learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Felt Stuffed Toy Letters

  1. Jenn says:

    These are so precious…I might have to use your idea for my son..I think he would love to play with these!!

  2. Ginny Sturdy says:

    I love your little felt letters. Such a simple idea, but I bet they will have loads of fun with them.

  3. Annette says:

    These are wonderful. Such a great hands-on learning tool! Please consider sharing on Waldorf Wednesday:
    http://ourseasonsofjoy.com/waldorf-wednesday-link-up/waldorf-wednesday-link-up-5/

  4. feltonthefly says:

    What a wonderful blog post! And thanks so much for mentioning my wool felt shop : ) Great pictures and tutorial.

    Janet at Felt On The Fly

  5. I love these letters! They are so incredibly adorable and useful!! I would love for you to stop by and link them up for Pintastic Monday! http://justdawnelle.blogspot.com/

    Dawnelle

  6. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for sharing, I can’t wait to make a set for my little guy! The pics really help!

  7. Sheila says:

    Beautiful work! I know your children will enjoy these.

  8. I’ve been wanting to make something like this for my daughters’ bedroom wall. I have the felt, just need the time….

  9. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap-up | Buggy and Buddy

  10. What a super innovative idea! Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing on Tutorial Thursdays, I am very grateful.
    x
    http://www.marigoldsloft.blogspot.com

  11. Thanks. This is a sewing project I might actually be able to do!

  12. Pingback: Learning to Read Series: Part 4- Play Letter and Phonemic Awareness Games Often | Buggy and Buddy

  13. Julie says:

    I love this idea! Thanks for linking to Mom’s Library!
    Julie

  14. Carrie says:

    What a great idea!! Thank you for sharing at Sharing Saturday!!

  15. Pingback: Show-and-Share Saturday Link Up! - I Can Teach My Child!

  16. enchantedhomeschoolingmom says:

    How cute! This project must have taken you quite a bit of time to sew. Thanks for linking up this week to my Enchanted Thursdays Blog Hop!

  17. Julie says:

    Hi,
    I am featuring this awesome activity on Mom’s Library Link-Up. Come check it out and grab a featured button from Hey Mommy, Chocolate Milk. Also, I hope you link up some of your latest activities!
    http://heymommychocolatemilk.blogspot.com/2012/10/moms-library-link-up-3-for-me.html
    Be blessed,
    Julie

  18. Christy says:

    I’ve made some of these with fabric, but I like these with felt. Cute.

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!