Making a Homemade Felt Toy Ball

I was invited to an upcoming baby shower where the host asked the guests to bring recycled or reused baby gifts. So I thought how fun it would be to use my leftover scraps of wool felt to make some baby toys. I began searching online for some ideas and ran across an awesome tutorial for making toy balls out of felt and stuffing on Duo Fiberwork’s blog. It ended up being super easy to do and actually relaxing!

First I cut out my pieces using the templates found on the tutorial. Luckily, I had lots of leftover felt from making birthday crowns for my kids and other toys in the past. I always buy 100% wool felt when I can. It just feels so wonderful and is such good quality. (If you are looking for a place to purchase some, my favorite shop is Felt on the Fly on Etsy.)

And then I began stitching. I love doing projects you can hand stitch because you can do it anywhere. This project is even easy to do while a 14 month old is throwing toys at you and tackling you! πŸ™‚ After stitching it most of the way, I stuffed it with some leftover bamboo stuffing I had sitting around. Then, I easily sewed on the end pieces and it was done!

I ended up making 2 different balls- one for the gift and one for Theo. The first ball I used matching thread for stitching and the second ball I used contrasting thread. I think both turned out cute, but have much different looks.

I ended up putting the first ball into a little gift basket with some old wooden toys for the baby shower and it turned out really cute! And the second ball was enjoyed by Theodore! (Apparently, you can even pick it up with your mouth!)

I think I’ll be making some more felt toys in the future. I forgot how fun and easy they were to do!

This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects, play, waldorf and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making a Homemade Felt Toy Ball

  1. Pingback: Felt Stuffed Toy Letters | Buggy and Buddy

  2. Sheila says:

    Saw this on Waldorf Wednesday and it looks great. I am always looking for hand sewing projects that use up those never-ending scraps! Glad to have your felt shop recommendation too.
    Best,
    Sheila

  3. Kelly says:

    Great project, so bright and colourful. Adding to my Christmas crafting list πŸ™‚

  4. Ginny says:

    The balls are great, and I love the action photos at the end.

  5. annettemarie says:

    These are such fun gifts for little ones. Thanks for sharing on Waldorf Wednesday. Hope to see you back this week!
    http://ourseasonsofjoy.com/general/waldorf-wednesday-8/

  6. Hi Chelsey, these are adorable! I must make one for my grandson, thank you for sharing, I’m a new FB follower!

    Have a good day, Nancy

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

