Fall Books We Love

 

I can’t believe summer has come to an end and we’re already welcoming fall. We always celebrate the change of the seasons by putting away the previous season’s books and unpacking our new season’s books. Lucy has been looking forward to this for the past few weeks and has been talking about her favorites that will be coming out to be read and enjoyed for the next few months. Here are some of our favorites (with commentary by Lucy, age 4)~

Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert

“It’s about a leaf man and he blows away in the wind.”

Nuts to You! by Lois Ehlert

“It’s about a squirrel that loves nuts! He got inside and so they had to get some nuts and say, ‘Nuts to you!’, so he would eat the nuts and come out.”

The Little Yellow Leaf by Carin Berger

“Look at me, Mommy. I’m holding on tight just like the little leaf.”

Autumn by Gerda Muller

“I like it because you can make up your own words.”

Fletcher and the Falling Leaves by Julia Rawlinson

“There’s lots of leaves that fall down from a tree. Fletcher tries to catch them. But then in winter his tree looks beautiful!”

Duck and Goose Find a Pumpkin by Tad Hills

“I think Theo likes when they are in the leaf pile.”

The illustrations in these books are amazing! I have to say my favorite of the bunch is The Little Yellow Leaf. I am in love with the illustrations and I find the story touching. Lucy would for sure choose Nuts to You! We’re still yelling, “Nuts to you!” at all the squirrels we see around the neighborhood! I’ve also noticed The Little Yellow Leaf and Fletcher and the Falling Leaves really lend themselves to great text-to-text connections. Lucy picked up on that immediately after we had read them for the first time this fall.

I would love to hear what your favorite fall books are. We are always looking to add to our collection!

See more great fall projects~

sunnydaytodaymama

This entry was posted in book sets, books, fall, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fall Books We Love

  1. Neto says:

    Thanks for the list. You know, I “sold” some books to a book store. They actually gave me store credit for the ones I had. I am going to look for these books that you hvae listed.

    • Chelsey says:

      Ooh! I love having credits at stores! I do this with my kids clothes at the local consignment store- so fun to get “free” stuff! I hope you enjoy the books!

  2. Mummyzilla says:

    what a great idea! My girls often struggle to find the books they want, so rotating some around would be perfect.

  3. Love this idea, thanks. I have an excuse to buy more books- season themed, awesome!

  4. Pingback: Fall Nature Table | Buggy and Buddy

  5. Pingback: Fabric Garland Decor for Autumn | Buggy and Buddy

  6. Pingback: Bookshelves from IKEA Spice Racks | Buggy and Buddy

  7. Hannah says:

    Great list of fall books! We own several of them! I featured you today on my blog. Thanks for linking up to the All Year Round Blog Carnival: Autumn! http://likemamalikedaughter.blogspot.com/2012/10/all-year-round-blog-carnival-autumn.html

  8. I love fall-themed books so much! Thanks for linking up to The Children’s Bookshelf. I’m pinning this to TCB’s Pinterest board.

  9. Michaela@bct says:

    There’s a book called Leaf Magic by Margaret Mahy which we absolutely love. It’s about a little boy who longs for a dog. One day a large leaf starts following him around…
    The illustrations are lovely, all in autumn colours.

    • buggy & buddy says:

      This sounds really cute! I just searched for it on Amazon and found some used copies. I think I’m going to have to order one. Thank you so much for sharing!

  10. Jenny says:

    Love your little girl’s descriptions of the books! 🙂

  11. I like how Lucy gave her thoughts about the books. It’s interesting to hear a kid’s point of view on what they like. Our favorite book for fall would be Leaf Man for sure. After we read it, my son (almost 3) had to search for leaf men everywhere.

    Thanks for sharing at the Sunday Showcase!

    • buggy & buddy says:

      I agree~ so fun to hear what kids are thinking about different stories. And it can change so much after each reading! I love how your son has been searching for leaf men! So cute!

  12. enchantedhomeschoolingmom says:

    I love your daughter’s commentary on what the storybooks are about. We have been fans for a long time in our household of the Duck and Goose series. Thanks for linking up this week to my Enchanted Thursdays Blog Hop!

  13. Pingback: Our 3 Favorite Books to Read Year Round | Buggy and Buddy

  14. sunnymama says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful autumn book collection with our Autumn Carnival. 🙂 I’ve featured your post here: http://sunnydaytodaymama.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/all-year-round-week-thirty-five-7.html

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

