Fabric Garland Decor for Autumn

I’m so excited about this garland for two reasons~
1. I actually got around to making something I had pinned on Pinterest!
2. I didn’t have to spend any money on it since I made it with leftover craft items I already had from old projects.

So, a while back I ran across this blog post (which has a really nice tutorial) showing an adorable garland made with fabric scraps. I pinned it for later and actually had time to make it today.

I searched through all my leftover fabric and pulled out any prints and colors that reminded me of fall. And I grabbed some thick twine I had bought a few weeks ago, thinking I’d use it for a project that it ended up not being needed for. (Glad I didn’t return it!)

Some of the fabric was already cut into strips (leftover from a quilt I had made a long time ago) so I cut the rest of the fabric to match the size of those.

And then I just began tying. It was easy and relaxing. After I had made some progress, I decided I didn’t really like the look of the mushroom fabric with the others so I removed it. I tried to not follow a pattern and wanted it to look kind of thrown together, but my brain had a hard time stepping out of its methodical ways. It’s not perfectly patterned though, such an accomplishment for me!

I hung it above our fireplace, near our fall books and nature table. It definitely gives our home more of a sense of autumn.  I may have to make some different ones for each season!

~Shared on Natural Suburbia~

This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects, fall, holidays & celebrations, waldorf and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fabric Garland Decor for Autumn

  1. kristin says:

    that is so lovely Chelsey! What a great way to bring some autumn color into your home. feeling very inspired…x

  2. Alessandra says:

    really simple, clever and nice, too!!!
    xxx Alessandra

  3. I love this! One for each season?

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Wouldn’t that be fun~ one for each season. Not sure if I have enough fabric in my stash, may require a shopping trip!

  4. Angela says:

    Cute! Your family room looks like a peaceful, joyful place to learn and play,

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Thanks, Angela~ It is definitely one of my favorite rooms. We’ve been trying to keep it simple and welcoming. (Although there are days where the kids make it anything but peaceful! Lol)

  5. The Monko says:

    what a lovely simple idea. I might add one to my tree branch that we decorate each season

  6. Crystelle says:

    Me oh my! You’ve been so busy! And how adorable it is too… Looks great above the firepalce like that….
    Love the simplicity of the garland….

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Thanks, Crystelle! I’m already thinking about needing one similar for winter, but don’t have much fabric in my stash for that. Hmm, wheels turning…

  7. I love all of your fabric choices – the colors and patterns are great! Thanks for sharing at the Sunday Showcase. 🙂

  8. andie says:

    i need something to decorate my booth for a craft fair in a few weeks. i’m horribly inept at sewing. this will be perfect for me to make! thanks soooo much for linking this up to tip-toe thru tuesday! and by the way, i looooooooove that dollhouse!

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Thanks, Andie~ it was so easy to make! We love the dollhouse too~ a gift a few years ago from Lucy’s Grandmommy and Grandbuddy!

  9. enchantedhomeschoolingmom says:

    What a fun idea! I think I will pin this and do this project with my daughter around Valentine’s Day to help decorate our home. Thanks for linking up this week to my Enchanted Thursdays Blog Hop!

  10. tulip says:

    That looks great. I love the spice rack book shelves too. Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library!

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

