Turn an old shirt into a something new again!

Last month’s Kiwi Crate included a set of pastel dye sticks (basically crayons for coloring on fabric permanently) which we used to decorate one of the projects from the crate. (Here are some of my previous posts about Kiwi Crates if you are interested in learning more or wondering what in the world a Kiwi Crate is~ April: Gardening and September: Farmers Market.) The dye sticks were hardly used up at all, and I had saved them thinking we would find a use for them in the future. (We have so many leftover supplies from past Kiwi Crates~ I feel like my whole arts and crafts area is getting restocked each month!)

So the perfect opportunity arose to use the dyes. Lucy and I were going through her old clothes and we ran across a stained, white shirt. We thought what better way to fix it up than to decorate it (and to cover up those stains with some color since I have completely failed at removing them.)

I covered part of the kitchen table with newspaper to protect the table from any stray hands with permanent dye sticks flying around. Then I put some paper inside the shirt to keep the colors from bleeding from the front to the back of the shirt. We got out the dye sticks and let Lucy at it!

She drew all kinds of things~ herself and her brother, a sun, a fence (apparently for Theo so he won’t run out of the yard), and on the back she drew a giant heart! I ironed the colors to set them and on she put it!

Here she is modeling the shirt (both front and back) with my sunglasses of course.

It was a quick, easy craft! Here were the dyes we used~Pentel Arts Fabric Fun~

If you are interested in trying out Kiwi Crates, follow them on Facebook. Sometimes they have special offers going on. Or, you can always contact me for a referral (we both get $10 off for using it!)  And an fyi- I am in no way affiliated with Kiwi Crates~ just love them!

This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Turn an old shirt into a something new again!

  1. Reblogged this on P.A.W. David and commented:
    This reminded me of when I was young and curious, serious to find my own perfect fit! Its an awesome share. Though its a first hearing of crayons which color fabrics permanently…hmm…must go search it out

  2. It looks like she had a great time making her own outfit. I’ve got a budding fashionista in the family, too – we’ll have to try this.

    • buggy & buddy says:

      She was very into it. I think we’ll have to do this more often with very worn shirts! So much fun and so easy!

  3. Rosey says:

    What a cute little model/helper you have! 🙂 Following you from the blog hop, thanks for the revised t-shirt share. 🙂

  4. Carrie says:

    Oh, how fun!! I love it! Thank you for sharing at Sharing Saturday!!

  5. andie says:

    aww… she looks so proud! it looks wonderful! thanks so much for linking up to tip-toe thru tuesday!

  6. enchantedhomeschoolingmom says:

    What a fun project! My daughter likes to do the same thing to her Dad’s old shirts using puff paints and dyes. I love the picture of her modeling her finished product wearing your sunglasses. Perhaps she will be the next big fashion designer or model! Thanks for linking up to my Enchanted Thursdays Blog Hop!

  7. Becki says:

    I love this idea! We have several shirts that are stained that I would like to dye rather than throwing them away! I’m glad you linked up on Eco Kids. I’m pinning this one!

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

