Fall Farm Trip~ Earthbound Farm Fall 2012

Going to pumpkin patches and farms is one of my favorite things to do in autumn~ pumpkins, sunflowers and corn everywhere! (Plus, we just love any excuse to visit the nearby Earthbound Farm Stand. It’s a great place to eat and let the kids run around. Here are some past posts with photos~ Earthbound Fall 2011 and Earthbound Summer 2012.)

So this past weekend we finally headed out to the farm to have lunch and see all the fall changes. It was packed! (We were obviously not the only ones with that idea!) The first thing we noticed when we walked in was the enormous amounts of pumpkins~ all different sizes, shapes and colors. The kids ran from one pile to the next with huge smiles on their faces!

                 

After exploring all the different pumpkin piles and festive, natural decorations, we decided to eat. This place is one of my favorites to go to for lunch! The kids shared a grilled cheese and some chocolate ice cream. My husband and I had cups of their infamous chili and a salad with heirloom lettuce leaves, edamame, red onion, feta, and their balsamic vinaigrette .

Now that we had re-energized, it was time for the corn maze! I have actually never been in a corn maze before so this was a first for me, as well as a first for the kids! (Can you believe I was actually born in Indiana after writing that sentence?!)

At the entrance~

And we’re off! The kids led the way! I kept imagining how enormous it must look from their point of view~ giant cornstalks all around!

After venturing around all parts of the maze, we finally made it to the end! I’m sure we’ll be back a few more times before the end of autumn~ I need some more of that chili!

Shared on Crafty Moms Share & The Magic Onions

This entry was posted in fall, family, gardening, outdoors, outings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fall Farm Trip~ Earthbound Farm Fall 2012

  1. kristin says:

    that looks like sososo much fun Chelsey!! I just love the variety of pumpkin and squash you show here.

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Definitely fun! I think we’re going back tomorrow with Lucy and some of her friends. Should be another fun day!

  2. Kelly says:

    It looks like you had a great time! Aren’t the pumpkin sculptures awesome? 🙂

  3. Beautiful! I love the pumpkin totem. My harvest this year consisted of a whopping three pumpkins.

  4. Ginny says:

    What a great day out!

    • buggy & buddy says:

      It was fun (and exhausting). But, I think that’s one way to gauge a great day~ by how tired everyone is at the end!

  5. Kendall says:

    Looks like a lot of fun!

  6. What a perfect family day out. I love the straw donkey, I wonder if I could make one of those for our farm here at Coombemill? I would love you to link with me over on Country Kids too, all about outdoor family fun. Just found you from Happy Family Times

  7. annettemarie says:

    I am kind of jealous of you right now!
    Thank you for linking up to Waldorf Wednesday. Hope to see you back this week!
    http://ourseasonsofjoy.com/autumn/waldorf-wednesday-9/

  8. 1978rebecca says:

    Wow! Those pumpkins are amazing. We only get orange ones in the UK.

    Thanks for linking to The Sunday Showcase. I’ve pinned this to our board.

  9. Rosey says:

    These are great pictures. I’m glad you all had a good time.

  10. Becki says:

    The pumpkin farm looks like it was great fun! I would love to see that huge pumpkin pole. I had to Pin this on my Fall Board. Thanks for linking up to Eco Kids Tuesdays.

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

