Protein Packed Sweet Potato Gnocchi (Gluten-free)

Do you ever buy food at the store with great intention to use it, but never do? I feel so guilty when I do this, and it has happened to me twice with sweet potatoes recently. Inspired and allured by the sights and aromas of fall, I buy sweet potatoes thinking I’ll use them to make something delicious and reminiscent of autumn, and then they just end up sitting around the kitchen taking up space (and growing eyes~ which seem to stare at me, constantly nagging me that I’m about to fail again.)

So finally I decided I could no longer stand the guilt of the neglected sweet potatoes on my counter and would make something. Unfortunately, I was still uninspired, and all my brain could come up with was the usual sweet potato concoction~ boring old baby food.  But, at least Theo loved sweet potato puree so they would be transformed into something!

The poor, dejected sweet potato puree~ not worthy enough to pass through Theo’s lips.

I did my usual routine~ baked them in the oven, pureed them in the food processor, and served them up to Theo nice and warm. And then, to my disbelief, Theo refused them. Not possible! This has always been one of his favorite foods! I tried again, but was met with head shaking and pursed lips. Sigh. I had failed again. I was about to put them in the freezer in baby cubes, and try serving them again to Theo in the future, but I knew they’d really just sit unused for months, long forgotten.

Hmm. What else could I do with the rejected sweet potatoes? I racked my brain and then remembered seeing sweet potato gnocchi on the menu at a local restaurant. Maybe I could try that- sweet potatoes as gnocchi, and throw in some protein with almond and quinoa flours! Theo may eat them in their new and improved form! This was quite a brainstorm. I patted myself on the back and got to work. It was actually very relaxing to make, and would have been perfect to do with the kids. Next time.

I ended up cooking a small batch for Theo and freezing the rest. I topped it with some grated Parmesan, and he ate it! Got those sweet potatoes in him, with some added protein from the quinoa and almond flours. It was a win-win for us both! And now I’ve got the extra sweet potato gnocchi in the freezer, ready to be cooked up, covered with a delicious sauce (any suggestions?), and served to the family~ a meal finally reminiscent of fall!

I’ve posted the recipe below~

Gluten-free Sweep Potato Gnocchi (adapted from Deliciously Ella )

 
3 sweet potatoes
1 cup brown rice flour (plus some extra for kneading)
1/2 cup almond flour
1/4 cup quinoa flour
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 egg
 

1. Preheat the over to 400 degrees. Clean the sweet potatoes and poke holes in them with a fork. Place them on a cookie sheet lined with foil. Bake for about 45 minutes,until soft when poked with a fork.

2. Let them cool. The skin will kind of shrink away from the potato.

3. After they’ve cooled, remove the skins and mash the insides of the potatoes.  (You can either whisk them by hand or put them in a food processor.) Place the mashed potatoes in a bowl and mix in the egg.

4. In a separate bowl, combine the brown rice flour, almond flour, and quinoa flour. Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, and kosher salt.

5. Stir the sweet potato mixture into the flour mixture until a soft dough forms.

6. Lightly flour a surface with additional brown rice flour and knead the dough a few minutes, adding additional brown rice flour until it is easy to work with and not too sticky. (I probably ended up adding about another 3-4 tablespoons.)

7. Divide the dough into four sections. Roll each section of the dough into a long, cylinder.

8. Use a knife to cut 1 inch sections.

9. You can just leave the gnocchi as is, or use a fork to add indentations. Place them on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.

Freeze or cook at this point.  To cook~ bring some lightly salted water to boiling. Add the gnocchi and cook about 3 minutes, until the gnocchi begin to float. Remove from the water with a slotted spoon and serve!

This entry was posted in fall, food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Protein Packed Sweet Potato Gnocchi (Gluten-free)

  1. Luks says:

    This look de-li-cious! I wanna try this one. Don’t have an oven so will try boiling the potatoes. 🙂

    • buggy & buddy says:

      Thanks! I really liked them~ just trying to decide on a great topping for them, although the Parmesan was a hit for Theo!

  2. Luks says:

    Reblogged this on Kolorful Interests and commented:
    I love sweet potatoes and these looks so yummy and tempting.

  3. goodbyemiss says:

    This looks amazing! Perfect for fall.

  4. KC Anderson says:

    Yum. I am going to try this. I bet a sauce with sage would be amazing. Another great use for sweet potatoes is Martha Stewart’s Sweet Potato and Apple Soup. It is a family favorite. http://www.tastebook.com/recipes/2926242-Sweet-Potato-and-Apple-Soup

  5. Miki says:

    Oh, I should give these a try ;).

    I’m coming from the blog hop, btw.

    Hope you’re having a great week ;D!

    Miki.

  6. Rosey says:

    I wonder if sweet potatoes could be used for a ravioli? Your gnocchi made me wonder, and it looks great, by the way!

  7. Paula J says:

    I always plan my meals ahead of time, but during the week I’ll change my mind about certain things and have leftover, unused ingredients too. Great idea you had!

    Thanks for sharing with my NO RULES Weekend Blog Party 🙂

    Paula
    lifeasweknowitbypaula.blogspot.com

  8. tulip says:

    Those look amazing and are packed with really healthy ingredients. Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library!

  9. ang says:

    hi! i’m stopping by from the link and learn blog hop – i adore gnocchi but never thought of making it with sweet potato – genius!

  10. sunnymama says:

    I love sweet potatoes and these look delicious! Thank you so much for sharing with our Autumn Carnival. 🙂 I’ve featured your post here: http://sunnydaytodaymama.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/all-year-round-week-thirty-six-7-autumn.html

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

