Whole Wheat Cheese Snack Crackers

One of our favorite snacks are homemade cheese crackers! They are really easy to make and require very few ingredients.  We decided to make a few batches to bring as a treat to Lucy’s fall party at preschool. I searched in her playdough bin for some mini autumn cookie cutters (and cleaned them well of course!). I thought the crackers would be perfect shaped as leaves, pumpkins and acorns. Usually Lucy enjoys making them with me, but today she said she was saving her energy to make an apple pie later, so I was on my own!
At least I was able to get some kitchen cleaning done in between the batches baking (only to have it get messy again as dinner rolled around~ isn’t that how it always goes?) The crackers are now packed and ready to head to school tomorrow (and we did later enjoy a homemade apple pie together~ care of Lucy!)

Whole Wheat Cheese Snack Crackers (adapted from Our Bower )

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
4 tablespoons butter
 

1. Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Line some baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Put the both flours, cheese and butter in the food processor.

3. Pulse it until it’s all mixed and looks able to form into dough (about 30 seconds).

4. Using your hands, press the mixture into balls and chill in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

5. After the dough has chilled, roll one ball at a time until it is about 1/4 inch thick. (The dough was much easier for me to work with when it warmed up a bit in my hands.)

6. Use mini cookie cutters, and cut out your cracker shapes. Place them on your lined baking sheets.

7. Bake at 350 degrees for about 12-14 minutes. Place them on a cooling rack to cool, and then enjoy!

This entry was posted in fall, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Whole Wheat Cheese Snack Crackers

  1. Wait! You mean I can make my own cheese crackers? Why has this never occurred to me? This looks really easy, fun for the kids to help with, and the ingredients are simple and healthy. Thanks, Courtney.

  2. Melanie says:

    These sound so good and I think my son will love them! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Visiting from Chocolate Milk Mom –these are much easier than I thought they would be! I think I’ll give this a try this week. Pinning!

  4. Hannah says:

    Oh I really like the fall crackers! I featured your post on my blog today! Thanks for linking up to The All Year Round Blog Carnival: Autumn. http://likemamalikedaughter.blogspot.com/2012/11/all-year-round-blog-carnival-autumn.html

  5. jtulip says:

    Those look absolutely delicious. I love how you cut them into leaves. Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library!

  6. Ginger says:

    I love this! I’m pinning it.

    I’m starting a brand new linky party today. I’d love for you to come link up.
    http://www.gingerlymade.com/2012/11/show-and-tell-1.html

  7. Carrie says:

    Oh, these sound delicious!! Thank you so much for sharing at Sharing Saturday!!

  8. Christy says:

    Oh this may be bad. I LOVE cheese crackers. Ha. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  9. mirandakay says:

    These look delicious! I’m always looking for healthier ways of making things!

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

