Making a Glass Jar Lantern

With the time change and it getting dark so early now, it seemed the perfect time to make a lantern to light up those fall evenings!

It was a gorgeous day so I gathered together our supplies and headed outside with Lucy.

  • glass jar
  • Modge Podge
  • watercolor (I used Stockmar watercolor paint )
  • brushes & paint tray (leftover babycube holder from  my baby food making days)

I put Modge Podge into each compartment of the paint tray, and then added some watercolor to each one. Then Lucy started to paint! She had so much fun and spent a lot of time mixing the colors. “Look, Mom! I’m getting lots of different shades of orange!”

We let it dry while we enjoyed the evening at the beach. When we got home, we put the leftover flicker light from our Halloween jack-o-lantern inside the jar and admired the beauty! Such a fun way to add some warmth to our fall evenings!

This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects, fall, waldorf and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Making a Glass Jar Lantern

  1. I love this lantern! It is a very creative idea for the kids!

  2. KIKH says:

    AMAZING. VERY GOOD IDEA FOR CHRISTMAS LANTERN

  3. Very cute. My 2 year old is starting to feel afraid of the dark, and I bet she would love this little project!

    • buggy & buddy says:

      What a good idea! Lucy is loving it~ some nights it’s in her room, other days it’s on our kitchen table for dinner or our nature table.

  4. Summer says:

    What a cute idea! I’m always looking for ways to use my mason jars. 🙂 Stopping by from the Enchanted Homeschooing Hop!

  5. jtulip says:

    I love the colors. It looks very festive. Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library!

  6. oh it turned out really wonderful!! We’ll have to give this a try with some extra jars we have! Thanks for sharing at the Sunday Showcase!

  7. Beautiful colors and such a fun hands on project! Thank you for linking up this week to my Enchanted Thursdays Blog Hop this week!

  8. Christy says:

    I’ve done this with craft paint, but never this kind. I love how it’s “visible”. Very cool. Thanks for linking up to tip-toe thru tuesday.

  9. What a lovely way to light up the early darkness now it’s getting closer to winter.

    Thank you so much for linking up to Tuesday Tots this week and just popping by to let you know that I’m featuring this post over on Rainy Day Mum this week.

  10. Pingback: Play, create and explore with light

  11. Pingback: The Sunday Showcase: Paint Techniques - Here Come the Girls

  12. Carrie says:

    Beautiful!! Thank you so much for sharing at Sharing Saturday!!

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

