Glass Jar Lantern #2

Recently, Lucy and I had been seeing so many neat ways to make lanterns at home on our favorite blogs. (Many people were preparing for lantern walks in honor of Martinmas.) One post that really caught my eye was this one over at Kleas. I loved how colorful the lanterns were, especially the colorful bead handles.

Our lantern walk was coming up too, and Lucy  and I had had so much fun making our previous lantern with Modge Podge and paint, that we were really excited to try the tissue paper one we had just seen on Kleas.

We pretty much followed the directions exactly as they were explained (which she does really well over on her blog). We used glue to attach the tissue paper to our glass jar. After it dried we covered it with a layer of Modge Podge and added our bead handle. I had some beeswax candles I had just purchased so I hot glued one to the center of the jar to keep it from falling. We loved how it turned out and really enjoyed using it at our lantern walk!


This entry was posted in art, crafts & projects, fall, holidays & celebrations, outdoors, waldorf and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Glass Jar Lantern #2

  1. Mud Hut Mama says:

    Your lantern turned out so beautifully! I agree that the beaded handle really makes it – as does that smile in the last photo!

  2. Sylvia says:

    Lovely girl! Cute idea for a lantern.

  3. The Monko says:

    thats a really lovely lantern

  4. angaleta says:

    So beautiful! She looks so proud and happy!

  5. Pingback: Recycle Bin Activities - Weekly Kids Co-op #3 | Housing a ForestHousing a Forest

  6. Tammy says:

    Thanks for linking up to the Kids Co-op last week. I featured your adorable glass lanterns. I can’t wait to see what you link up this week.

  7. Carrie says:

    Very nice!! My daughter made a similar one but with yarn on the handle at school for the lantern walk. Thank you for sharing at Sharing Saturday!

  8. annettemarie says:

    Oh, these are great! And I love how sassy she looks in that last picture.
    Thanks so much for linking up to Waldorf Wednesday. I hope we see you back this week, and feel free to add more than one link since we were off last week.
    http://ourseasonsofjoy.com/waldorf-wednesday-link-up/waldorf-wednesday-13/

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

