Our Favorite Christmas Books

christmas books

Lucy and I (and Theo) wanted to share some of our favorite books about Christmas. (I meant to post this sooner, but holiday time always seems so hectic!)  Here are some of our favorites~ (with commentary by Lucy, age 4, in green)~

Fletcher and the Snowflake Christmas

by Julia Rawlinson

A cute little story of friendship!

“Fletcher thought Santa Claus would not find the rabbit’s home so they made arrows to help him find his way there. But then it snowed and no one could see the arrows. I like how the friends tried to help Santa.”

Small, Medium and Large

by Jane Monroe Donovan

My husband bought this story for the kids last year. It’s absolutely adorable. There are really no words (except in some of the illustrations) which is always fun to read with kids. The stories can change time and again. And I still get teary-eyed every time we read this one.

“A girl gets presents~ one was big, one was medium, one was small. Pets can make you feel happy.”

The Story of the Nutcracker Ballet

by Deborah Hautzig

Each year we go to see the Nutcracker Ballet put on at our local theater. It helps to read this story ahead of time so Lucy can better understand the performance. I think Lucy loves the magical quality of the story.

“I like the Nutcracker Ballet because I’ve seen the Nutcracker Ballet.”

The Night Before Christmas

by Clement C. Moore

This just seems like a must read each year! I remember reading it to my little sister each Christmas Eve when we were young. The illustrations in this version are so cute!

“It tells me the story of Santa Claus. My favorite part is when it says ‘Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse’.”

Silent Night: Nativity Board Book

from Scholastic

The kids love turning the different shaped pages in this board book as we sing Silent Night together.

“I like the song of it and I also like to sing it. It’s about when Jesus was born.”

Some books on our Christmas Wish List~

I’ve got these books on our wish list for Christmas. I think they will be our next additions to our Christmas book collection! Have any of you read these yet? What did you think of them?

The Christmas Angels

by Else Wenz-Vietor

The Christmas Quiet Book

by Deborah Underwood

Dream Snow

by Eric Carle

Christmas in the Big Woods

by Laura Ingalls Wilder

I would love to hear about any of your favorite Christmas books. I feel like we can never have enough!

IMG_8159

If you enjoyed this post, you may also be interested in these previous posts~
 
1. Our Favorite Books to Read Year Round
2. Learning to Read
3. Bookshelves from IKEA Spice Racks
This entry was posted in book sets, books, holidays & celebrations, learning, reading, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Our Favorite Christmas Books

  1. I love all the Fletcher books. I also liked The Christmas Quiet book. Thanks for linking up to TCB.

  2. Rachel says:

    I LOVE the commentary from your daughter! I don’t have any of these books, but I have a ton of other books! I love The Littlest Angel, probably because not a year of my childhood went by without reading that one. I also really like The Best Thing About Christmas, The Nativity Story, and so, so, so many more. I actually am planning to do a blog post about it soon, I will try and remember to share it with you 🙂

  3. Dream Snow is definitely a favorite. I like to share it during storytime and let the kids speculate about the farmer. I love, love Minerva Louise on Christmas Eve (or any Minerva Louise book, actually)! As always, I love hearing your 4-year-olds account of the books. I’ve got to remember to try this with Bobo.

    • buggy & buddy says:

      I’m glad you enjoy Dream Snow~ I’ll have to for sure get that one next! I didn’t even know there was a Minerva Louise Christmas book… off to search for that one too! It’s so fun to hear what Lucy thinks of the books or what connections she makes. And it’s really fun to see how they change over time. Even though Theo can’t really talk, I really should keep some kind of record of how he interacts with his favorite books too. I think we read (sang) a “Wheels on the Bus” board book a million times today! He kept signing ‘again’!

  4. Mud Hut Mama says:

    I loved this post – this year I realized we only have two Christmas books so we are looking to add some more. Our favorite is Stick Man. We also read The Night Before Christmas each Christmas Eve growing up and I want to start that same tradition with my children.

  5. Carol says:

    For school age girls, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott is a great read. The story begins as Christmas approaches. My daughter and I love this book.

  6. Christy says:

    Great list of books!

  7. I love the variety of different types of books in your list and also how you have added your daughter’s perspective. Thanks for linking up to TCB!

  8. jtulip says:

    Great picks! Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library.

Leave a Reply~ I would love to hear from you!

